Help Center

Crisis Plans in CX Social

Last Updated: Apr 13, 2017 08:24AM EDT

Social Media crises are inevitable. Your brand’s reputation can be damaged by a handful of tweets that go viral. Preparation is key. If you have a plan in place it is much easier to maintain the situation and save your reputation. With CX Social you have the ability to create Crisis Plan(s) beforehand and go into Crisis mode with a single click when necessary.
 
With Crisis Plans you can prepare your team in case of an unexpected emergency or an expected promotional campaign. Crisis Plans allow you to:
 

ŸŸŸ       Configure temporary restrictions and changes to user roles
ŸŸŸ       ● Coordinate and further support your CX Social team with warnings
ŸŸŸ       ● Prevent scheduled messages from getting published
ŸŸŸŸ       ● Track the progress on your pre-defined emergency to-do list.

If you have set up a crisis plan in CX Social, you can change the working mode of CX Social with a single click the very moment an emergency arises. In the following article we will explain you step by step on how you can create a Crisis Plan.
 

ŸŸ●  Creating a Crisis Plan
ŸŸ●  Setting up a Crisis Plan
ŸŸ●  Activating a Crisis Plan
ŸŸ●  Disabling a Crisis Plan
 
Creating a Crisis Plan in CX Social
 
Creating a Crisis Plan in CX Social is really simple. Start by going to the Account Settings and selecting “Crisis Plan” from the left side bar. Next you should see tthe option to create and add a Crisis Plan.


 
Moving forward, click “Add Crisis Plan” and the option to create your plan will appear. Here you will be able to set up and customize your crisis plan(s)


Creating a Crisis Plan
 
Setting up your Crisis Plan

Start by giving your Crisis Plan a specific name and a clear description (1). Your description will be used as a guidance for Account Administrators. For example why and when this Crisis Plan should be used.


 
Next you can select for which teams Crisis mode should be enabled (2). For example you might have several different teams over the globe but a crisis can be country specific – which would allow you to just select the team of that specific Country. Here you will also be able to select the main point(s) of contact, the coordinator (2), for when you are having a crisis situation.
 
During the Crisis Mode you are also able to display Application Wide Warnings (3) messages for your team. This will inform your CX Social users (see 2) that a Crisis plan is in place. You can define the style of the warning message: problem, warning, info and success. For example:

ŸŸ       ●  Problem: Terrorist attack, Accidents,..
ŸŸ       ●  Warning: Weather conditions, Traffic jams,..
ŸŸ       ●  Info: Delayed deliveries, marketing campaigns,..
ŸŸ       ●  Success: Product launch, Acquisitions,..

 
During these warnings you can give your team specific instructions by filling the Instructions section. You can use this to provide your users with specific information about the crisis or link to documents relevant during the crisis. Any link you add here will be click-through.
 
Important to know is that the warning and displaying is only visible to internal users.
 
Posting content (4) when you are having a crisis is something that you should avoid. Therefore during Crisis mode you can also choose to disable all scheduled content for a specific profile and or add a postfix to anything that gets posted.  

Simply tick off the option Disable Scheduled Posts for and click customize to select the profile(s) that should be disabled by clicking on the + menu. It's important to know that if your profile is part of scheduled posts that contain multiple profiles - these will be disable as well. 



 
You can also choose what user role should be overwritten (5) and it should change to. During a large crisis it’s easier if people with certain roles can jump in and immediatelly have the correct permissions to start working in CX Social. Simply select which user role(s) should change during a Crisis Mode.

Next to user role overrides you can also select whether or not you want to enable or disable automations (6). If for example you want to configure automations recipes specific to a certain crisis for reporting purposes or to set more advanced notifications for certain types of data (different assigning strategy) during a crisis, auto-resolve certain type messages for example and so on, you can. 


Additionally it is also good to know that we have a couple of custom permissions that can be set in custom user roles. These permissions will allow the user to do the following things: 

ŸŸ       
●  Add, Edit and delete Crisis plans
ŸŸ       
●  Activate and disable Crisis plans
ŸŸ       
●  Mark Crisis plan to-do-list items as done

It might be a good idea to create a couple of Crisis specific user roles that can be used to overwrite a user's current role when entering Crisis Mode. 
 

During your Crisis Mode you can also provide a to do list (7) for your team to make sure everything gets handled and covered. You can type the task and even assign it to a user in CX Social. It will be displayed when the Crisis Plan is active.
 
And last but not least there's the option for notifications (8) which will allow you to send notifications to internal users (agents) and external users (e-mail) when a crisis is happening. We will send e-mail notifications and push notifications to those users when a Crisis Plan becomes active. At the end of the Crisis plan you will receive a summary of the history, an overview of what happend and who ticked off certain things on the to-do list.
 
Activating a Crisis Plan in CX Social
 
Once you have created your Crisis Plan, simply go back to the Overview and you will the option to turn on your Crisis Plan and go in to Crisis mode.


 
Upon activating your Crisis Plan you will have to confirm with your password before CX Social goes into Crisis Mode:
 

 
It is also good to know that you can create more than 1 Crisis Plan and there can be multiple plans active at the same time, however we will only show the last activated plan (color code) in the Cris Console. You have the option to switch and change this ofcourse. Simply select it from the dropdown menu like so: 




After that your CX Social account will enter Crisis Mode and will be visible for all users. Via the dropdown menu Users can collapse and expand the Crisis Mode and see what additional information is available and what the progress is on the to-do list.


 


Disabling a Crisis Plan in CX Social 

When the social crisis is over and you handled the situation you can disable the Crisis Plan via the options in the drop menu (see screenshot 1) or via the Account Settings. 



You will able to see all the actions and anything related to the Crisis Plan in the Overview, underneath the Crisis Plans in your account. If you subscribe to notifications of the Crisis plan, you will receive a summary of the history, an overview of what happend and who ticked off certain things on the to-do list.

 
 
Tip: We also have an endpoint available in the CX Social API. You can read more about this endpoint here

BewarenBewarenBewarenBewaren

Contact Us

support@engagor.com
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
engagor
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete